top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Taylor

A 2020 Reflection

2020 was a year that none of us were expecting. From working at home, furlough, career changes, lockdowns, losses, this year threw obstacles at us, and we should all be immensely proud of making it through! I really think we should celebrate every single one of our achievements, of every kind, and above all, congratulate ourselves on making it through 2020, and being kind. In 2020 I felt like I had a lot to celebrate. At the start I continued to help students through my work as a technician, creating videos of lab techniques to help with online learning along with transcripts of how to use a microtome. I continued my work for TechLinc, creating awareness of the work of technicians through the Technician Commitment, and planning events. When lockdown came, I adapted to working from home until I was furloughed. As I’ve mentioned in a previous blog, furlough and lockdown really impacted my mental health, and with my technician contract ending and the job market shrinking, I was struggling with the prospect of not having a job.


Then, the best thing that could have happened, happened. I was offered a role of an MLA in Histopathology in Harrogate in July. This started a role in a career I love, with amazing coworkers, and being able to give back to the NHS, even working overtime to process Covid-19 tests. I moved house with my favourite person, and I’m really enjoying my work, something that I wish I could go back and tell myself in June.


This year I also completed my MSc and raised more awareness and money for the Alzheimer’s Society, even doing the 3 Peaks to raise money! But my biggest achievement of 2020 has to be simply getting to the end of it.

I'm also so so happy that I decided to start my Instagram page along with this blog back in February. I've met some of the loveliest most supportive people, and I can't wait to keep posting things I love and sharing what I enjoy with you all! So here's to us all continuing to be supportive, kind and patient in 2021, not only to others, but to ourselves ❤️




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page