top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Taylor

A note to my younger self

We will never be a finished product. I think it’s important for us to understand that we are always developing, changing and learning. Although we may think we have everything figured out, paths can change and adapt, and that’s completely OK. We need to learn that sometimes things don’t always go to plan, and that doesn’t make us any less than what we are, or not good enough. Sometimes the best person that can understand us and the best person to understand the route we are on is ourselves, and to do that we need to be kind to ourselves, put less pressure on ourselves and know that our path is not set in stone. My journey to where I am today was not always smooth sailing, and its also definitely not finished, but sometimes the twists and turns felt like huge dents in my career. I know that I have more growing to do, but I wanted to write a note to my younger self to show that although not everything went to plan, it doesn’t change who I am, or define me.



A photo of a young girl in dungarees and pigtails sitting on a garden path smiling


To my younger self, things may not always be as easy as you’d like, but keep putting effort into the things you enjoy, and surround yourself with good people.


To myself in school, try not to worry so much about what people think of you. It’s completely ok to not know what you want to do, no one has everything figured out.

To myself in sixth form, please don’t go as hard on yourself as you did on A level results day. Not doing medicine may feel like a huge derailment of your plans, but that is absolutely not the case. Medicine is not the only way that you can help people, and you will find so many ways to make an impact on people’s lives. You will love your course, and will find a true love for science.


To myself in university, don’t put so much pressure on yourself! You are doing just fine as you are. I know doing a PhD seems like the only path you want to take, but there are more options out there, and no one will think less of you for not doing one. You’re going to notice that there’s not as much diversity in science as there should be. Fight to change that. Use your voice to raise awareness and be the change you want to see. Try to impact others, and celebrate what you’re good at


To myself 6 months ago. Simply, you are a real scientist, and everything will be ok.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page