top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Taylor

Being a First-Gen Uni Student

🎓 The good and the bad of being a first gen scholar



A woman in a graduation hat and gown standing in front of a wall covered in leaves


Being a first gen scholar meant that I was the first member of my family to go to university. It was rare for people in the area that I grew up in to go to uni at all, and this lead to some issues as well as some incredible experiences


🎓 Originally, I wanted to do medicine at university. I attended on open days full of people with parents who were doctors, who all had a plan and a route in. Someone on a work experience placement I went on was complaining that she didn't get extra help for applications as her mum was a nurse, little did she know how much first gen students really need that extra help! As supportive as my parents were during my applications to uni, they didn't know anything about UCAS applications, and I didn't have anyone other than our sixth form tutor to talk about applications with


🎓 "Laura will change the world you know". This was something I kept hearing from my parents through uni, and as much as their support was amazing, I did feel some pressure to perform really well and to try and make as big an impact as I could


🎓 A lot of first gen students feel pressure to do really well, as we are sort of leading the way for future generations of scholars. Sometimes I did feel stressed, and it was hard trying to talk to my parents about things that I was struggling with (it's hard to explain why your western blot keeps going wrong to someone without a molecular biology background!). My advice to anyone trying to support someone like a first gen student, just know we don't always need you to fix things, sometimes we just need a vent and a hug


🎓 My parents were incredibly supportive throughout my time at uni and I was really lucky to have their support. I think a lot is expected of first gen students, but all we need to do is try our best, and talk to our loved ones when we are struggling ❤️




The inside of Lincoln cathedral with blue and yellow lights on the architecture inside
Lincoln cathedral in the background with a white university of Lincoln flag in the foreground

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page